Hathi TrustThe HathiTrust Digital Library is home to millions of digitized books and publications. Their digital library preserves the published record for durable, long-term, and lawful access, offering reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. and international copyright law, text and data mining tools for the entire corpus, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.
EuropeanaEuropeana provides digital access to European cultural heritage material to inspire and inform fresh perspectives and open conversations about our history and culture. Europeana provides access to millions of cultural heritage items from institutions across Europe. Discover artworks, books, music, and videos on art, newspapers, archaeology, fashion, science, sport, and much more.
Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive, a non-profit organization, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. The Internet Archive archives the web itself with 24 years of web history availeble through the Wayback Machine. Digital documents - books pamphlets, images and media from archives and individuals across the world are also available, with free access to researchers, historians, scholars and the general public.
A wiki based index to open access primary sources on European history comiled by Brigham Young University. Links connect to primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation. The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible. These open access sources are readily available to all -- without fees or subscriptions.
The official report of all Parliamentary debates. Find Members, their contributions, debates, petitions and divisions from published Hansard reports dating back over 200 years.
British Pathé is considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world. Spanning the years from 1896-1978, its collections include footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science, and culture. It is an invaluable resource for broadcasters, documentary producers, museum curators, and researchers worldwide. The entire archive of 85,000 films is available to view for free on the British Pathé website while licences can be acquired for other uses.
Resources from the Huygens InstituteThe Huygens Institute is the national institute for research on history and culture of the Netherlands. They provide a range of freely available online including records of the Dutch parliament during the period of the Republlic, 1576-1796, records of the Dutch East India Company, and correspondence of prominent individuals, such as Johan de Witt and the wives of the stadholders, and artists, such as Piet Mondrian and Vincent van Gogh.
Library of Congress Digital CollectionsThe Library of Congress makes millions of unique primary sources available online to everyone, everywhere through their digital collections. Whilst these are extensive, they do have limits, and are strongest in the nineteenth and early part of the twentieth century.