These are some key databases for History that cover a wide range of topics, time periods and geographical areas. Also see the pages for History databases covering more specific time periods and geographical areas.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH)
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55 BC to the present.
English Historical Documents Online
Contains over 5,500 expertly indexed and fully searchable primary documents for British (not just English) history from 500-1914. The sources cover a wide spectrum of topics, from political and constitutional issues to social, economic, religious as well as cultural history.
Historical Abstracts with full text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education.
Contains full text archive of important scholarly journals (generally does not contain the most recent three years). It also includes 800+ e-book titles from a wide variety of disciplines published digitally by university presses from 2013. JSTOR now includes over 1 million ARTSTOR images.
Oxford Bibliographies provides annotated subject bibliographies and research guides providing an up-to-date overview of the most recent and authoritative scholarship in a given field.
Project MUSEE- journal and e-book platform offering access to scholarly titles from several American university presses. Those e-journals Warwick has access to are marked with a green ticked circle. When browsing subject collections use the 'Only content I have full access to box'. Warwick has access to the Project Muse open access e-books.
Royal Geographical Society with IBG Archive
The Royal Geographical Society (with Institute of British Geographers) was founded in 1830. The Society’s archive contains vast collections of documents, maps, photographs, expedition reports, manuscript materials and books, and span 500 years of geography, travel and exploration. The RGS holds one of the largest private map collections in the world. It includes one million sheets of maps and charts, 3000 atlases, 40 globes (as gores or mounted on stands) and 1000 gazetteers. The earliest printed cartographic item dates back to 1485.
Databases for History provide access to a huge range of primary source archives online. They allow you to search and access material without having to travel to archives and can bring material from across different archives together under a theme. They can also provide character recognition, full-text search, transcripts along with supporting contextual analysis, accompanying essays or tools such as timelines to help you make sense of the material you are working with.
JSTOR
Oxford Bibliographies